winter flowers

 

I think flowers at the end of winter are absolutely delightful.  My hellebore”Penny’s Pink” is just stunning;  I also have a white hellebore that is a lot simpler but also very beautiful – I’m rather wowed by its change from white to green.  I’ve discovered recently that I love green flowers, they balance other colours so beautifully.

Elsewhere in the garden I have a mahonia, sarcococca and winter heathers all in flower, as well as crocus and a few snowdrops.  My snowdrops have been really disappointing – after transplanting a couple of hundred last year, very few have come up.  I planted them in the green into a rose bed…. and think now that perhaps the soil is just too rich for them to manage.  I’ll now dig up the few that have survived and move them to a more hospitable location.

I also have a shrub that has flowered for the first time this winter – it’s been in the garden for about 3 years and had made the ‘do something or die’ list.  I vaguely recall buying a scented shrub for near the front door, so to see it flower is lovely.  I think it’s a Lonicera purpusii ‘Winter Beauty’ – however, I’m not inundated with the many flowers shown on on-line images… perhaps I’ve not nurtured it enough, or it may still be too immature.  Anyway, while the plant is not the most beautiful specimen, the depth and sweetness of the scent is a joy.

This week I have finally managed to sow my sweet peas – I’ve never sown this late so fingers crossed I have some blooms later in the season.  We’ve had so much rain in Buxton – as we move into March I’m really ready to stop planning and to start moving!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “winter flowers

  1. Ah, Penny is pretty. I must buy some pink hellebores. And I have a winter honeysuckle too, which has been flowering since the end of November and has such a delicate scent. The rest of the year however it is a bit of a none entity and I am thinking of maybe trying to grow a clematis or rose through it if I can find something that likes shade.

    Like

  2. The winter honeysuckles at RHS Wisley look such a tangled mess of twiggy stems but smell divine – It’s a great idea to grow a climber up through it to give interest in the summer. Your snowdrops wouldn’t have minded the rich soil around the roses but it’s important that the soil is kept moist. Having said that, I’ve had snowdrops from bulbs that I popped into a bowl planter and then forgot. They weren’t specifically kept moist but they’ve come back again this year, amazingly. Hope yours survive in their new location, Simone – and, you never know, the other bulbs may pop up next year! Caro x

    Like

Leave a Reply

