a riot of colour

I have really enjoyed reading so many beautiful posts on tulips – particularly as my own display this year hasn’t been brilliant.  I planted 100 in the front garden and very few have actually flowered – totally my own fault as they were planted in February.  The tulips in the photograph are the free Darwin Hybrids that I (again very last minute) shoved into a few pots. They have been sensational – strong statement colours that lasted for about two weeks.  These shall now be planted deeply into the side border – hopefully to return for many years to come!

The remaining flower photographs are all from the pond garden.  The Primula denticulata have been amazing planted en mass with some orange tulips and daffodils.  The daffodils have carried through the brilliant yellow of the marsh marigolds.  Floating over the bed are the stunning pink flowers of the ornamental cherry.  I know that purple, orange, yellow and pink should perhaps not work…  but it has been amazing!  As the primula flowers fade I have 80 P. vialii ready to fill the gap.

In the potager I have planted out the sweet peas, peas, mangetout, radish, beetroot, sugar snaps, greens and some edible flowers.  The greenhouse is full to bursting with seedlings.  I’m starting to plan the removal of turf in the bee garden / orchard and the expansion of the back garden border.  Plus there’s all the weeding, additional planting and moving – so much to do, so little time!

 

6 thoughts on “a riot of colour

  1. Well it all looks and sounds lovely. How are you removing the turf? I’m getting rid of some of my lawn so I can create a wider border, but digging is hard work so I have covered it with cardboard for now! One day I hope to be able to sit in my little garden and simply enjoy it, but for now it is all go. When do you open yours for the NGS?

    Like

    1. Hi Jude! I agree, removing the soil is a back-breaking task. I did about 5 square m and was in agony. So, I have decided to pay to hire a turf remover for a day. Apparently if I (we) work fast then we could get the whole area stripped in about 6 hours… Apparently. My area is a rectangle without fussy corners, so the machine ‘should’ run up and down it in strips. Then I have lots of old carpet stored to cover the clean area with before sowing in September. That’s the plan anyway – just got to convert it to reality now! I’m not opening for the NGS this year – have gone back to Uni and couldn’t do it all… unfortunately. So I’ve held off for a year and plan to open again next year. A shame – but I’m a lot less stressed! Have you been to the garden on the Isles of Scilly??? Simone

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sounds like a good idea. I’m going to replace my bit of lawn gradually so one area this year and then maybe a bit more next, depending on how the first area works out. Not good to be stressed so a good idea to hold off opening the garden. What are you studying at uni then? And I am thinking of popping over to the Scillies in June – apparently we locals can get a discount then!! I just need to work out if there is time to visit Tresco on a day trip.

        Like

  2. Hi Jude, Ooooh, I’ll be interested to know if you can do it via a day trip – I’m not a big fan of very small planes, I’d rather go by snail (boat)…. 🙂 It looks like a very lovely place to visit. Good plan re: your garden – I like to start lots of different projects but then the whole thing looks a mess! So, yes, a small section to start sounds a good way to go – I’m going to follow your advice and cover another part of my lawn with cardboard – see if it works also (can’t see why it won’t)….. I might do cardboard and then grass clippings on top to keep out the light and perhaps it will all die down and I’ll be left with some nice mulch…? Hmmmm. Uni – psychotherapy MSc – hence my real interest in the garden and the mind!!! I pray for some rainy days so feel happy to sit at my desk rather than digging away! I’ve decided I need another day in the week! 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow, zingy colours! I regularly fail to plant my tulips on time and usually have a few bags that end up in the bin come springtime. Planting in containers is such a good idea if you’re short of time (which, for me, means always!) You’re ahead of me in planting out beans, peas, etc. I’ve really got to get on with it this weekend as quite a few plants are ready to go out (mange tout, courgettes, sweet peas and sweet corn). Reading through the comments, very interested to read that you’re studying psychotherapy; my niece is doing the same and my sister studied psychology at MA level. Fascinating subject. I’ve just bought Gardening for Mindfulness as it’s a subject that I’m totally into and want to read Sue Stuart-Smith’s book when it comes out. (Next year by the looks of things but I originally thought it was being published this spring.) Anyway, hope you’ll write a bit about it as you study … if you have time that is! x

    Like

    1. Hi Caro! I’m glad I’m not the only one throwing away bulbs!! I also have read some articles by Sue Stuart-Smith – wasn’t aware she had a book coming out so that is really good to know thank you, will watch for it. Psychotherapy is such an interesting subject – I had considered horticultural therapy – may yet integrate into my practice – early days yet for me. I know after a client-heavy day I crave some time in the garden. So much easier to work in an area that I have total belief in. I find mindfulness in the garden is so doable – I think it’s immersion of all the senses that does it for me. Good luck with your planting out this week! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

