wild flowers

Last year I was thrilled to have a number of orchids appear in my ‘wild’ garden.  I wasn’t sure how the orchids spread, so last year gave a little helping hand and scattered the dried seed towards the end of the summer.  Amazingly I have about 30 this year – of two separate varieties – which I believe are Northern Marsh-orchid and Heath Spotted-orchid. I have the stunning and very helpful “Wild Flowers” book by Sarah Raven which has helped with identification – the Northern Marsh-orchid grows prolifically through seed dispersion, so perhaps next year I could have a field of purple?

The plan in this space had been to hire a turf remover, take out the entire top layer of soil to reduce the nutrient level and then to scatter a native seed mix.  However, the orchids are so happy that I have changed the plan slightly – now I plan to remove foot-square patches into which I will sow Yellow Rattle and a native seed mix.  The Coronation Meadows site for Derbyshire is the starting point for wildflower varieties in my area.

This area of the garden will eventually extend to housing the bee hive – planned for 2018 – but I have always considered it a bit of a wasteland.  However, having paged through the “Wild Flowers” book, it is no longer a wasteland, rather a very small wildflower meadow.  So far, I have identified 16 varieties.  Some, the Common Thistle, Lady’s Mantle, Common Bistort and Ground Elder, need to be carefully managed;  but others – such as the Foxgloves, Lesser Stitchwort and Meadow Saxifrage – will hopefully respond well to the decrease in tough grasses through the introduction of Yellow Rattle.  I’m also considering adding some historic wild roses to the mix.  If only there were more hours in the week!

 

3 thoughts on “wild flowers

  1. Hi Simone, just popped over to catch up with your blog and see you’ve not been here since June. Everything okay, I hope? Hopefully you’re busy extending your beautiful wildflower meadow and getting ready for beehives next year. Caro xx

    Like

    1. Hi Caro – that was a lovey mail thank you! All ok on my side… just overwhelmed with academic reading and writing and have no time in the garden, let alone writing about it. Which is a shame – must make more of an effort….. It’s been nice to see some more posts from you – does that mean that life is starting to settle down a little bit now? I hope so…. Hope you are enjoying the start of our cold weather! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

